Established 1951

9 High Street, Auckland Central Auckland. 09 379 8950
3 St Heliers Bay Road, St Heliers Auckland. 09 575 8650
42-44 Hurstmere Road, Takapuna Auckland. 09 486 1952
Frames Latest eyewear
Lenses Order lenses and solutions
Articles Browse > press articles

Request > an appointment

There are few practices in New Zealand that would have as formidable a history as Mortimer Hirst.

Mortimer Hirst has an esteemed history in optometry specialising in contact lenses with the founders manufacturing and fitting contact lenses since the early 1940’s.

The tradition continues today with the clinical team of industry leading Optometrists and Contact lens Specialists; business partner Grant Watters (grantwatters.co.nz), Alan Saks (alansaks.co.nz), Kerry Atkinson (kerryatkinson.co.nz), Varny Ganesalingam (varnyganesalingam.co.nz), Emilie Langley (emilielangley.co.nz) and Aki Gokul (akigokul.co.nz).

As well as providing general optometric services such as eye examinations, visual screening and children’s vision (paediatrics) the clinical team specialise in post-surgery care, dry eye IPL treatment, ophthalmology co-management and complex contact lens fitting, management and troubleshooting.

This includes specialised contact lens designs for Keratoconus, post-graft care, topography driven custom designs, rigid lens (RGP) fitting, polishing and adjusting, cosmetic contact lenses for irregular or post-traumatic injuries, multifocal, hybrid, astigmatic lenses and OrthoK (OrthoK.co.nz), also known Orthokeratology and Corneal Refractive Therapy (CRT).

Mortimer Hirst is renowned for its unique eyewear and sunglass collections.

Whether it’s a traditional look or a fashion statement the expert team of Dispensing Opticians will find eyewear to suit and compliment your image.

The buying team are constantly sourcing the most innovative and exciting new collections to work with, often from obscure and little known fashion houses as well as established internationally renowned brands, some of which are exclusive to Mortimer Hirst.

Selecting eyewear is similar to bespoke tailoring; it incorporates a great deal of detail such as shape, colour, size, fit, style and material, ensuring it compliments hair and skin tones and most importantly, represents your personality and the look you are after. Mortimer Hirst’s team of Dispensing Opticians pay special attention to these details as well as your personal, visual and lifestyle requirements.

The Eyewear collections represent the very best in bespoke, vintage, retro and designer brands from around the world.